Join Our Email List

 
  I prefer postal mail  

Exhibitions

  • Header image

NightswimmingLLE Gallery

28 July - 08 September 2018

Private View: 2pm, Saturday 28th July

BEEP VIP event: 
Friday 3rd August 4-5.30pm 
Join us to meet some of the artists exhibiting in Nightswimming and this year’s Beep Painting Biennial before making our way over to the opening of this year’s Beep International Painting Prize 6-8pm at Swansea College of Art.

 

in association with BEEP Painting Biennial

Simon Bayliss / Lindsey Bull / Martyn Cross / Gordon Dalton / Lara Davies / Tom Down / Tamara Dubnyckyj / Robbie Fife / Rebecca Gould / Jacqui Hallum / Marielle Hehir / Aly Helyer / Linda Hemmersbach / Dan Howard-Birt / Richard James / Iwan Lewis / Jonathan Lux / James Moore / Hannah M Morris / Philip Nicol / Tom Pitt / Ben Risk / Ben Sadler / Toby Ursell / Casper White / Ellie Young

 “Night gives us the space for things to happen in. Once we pass through twilight into darkness, edges blur; we lose the sense of things. We start to question what is in front of us; we become aware of darkness' ability to multiply risk.  The fear of getting caught.  Within the depths of darkness we are continually in doubt.  Our vision becomes searching, figures and forms appear and disappear in the shadows.  Artists often utilise this area of confusion to draw out forms and ideas, like finding a figure within an abstract painting”

Mission Gallery is pleased to present LLE, an artist-led curatorial project with a focus on contemporary painting. From a base in Wales they aim to showcase their artists via projects, international art fairs and exhibitions. 

Lack of light has been a constant feature in the creation of artwork, from the earliest cave paintings through to the works of Rembrandt, and later Walter Sickert. Within this show LLE bring together contemporary works that reach into the darkness, questioning how the lack of light affects the work and what this means to the viewer.

Nightswimming has been programmed in association with the BEEP Painting Biennial, which profiles vibrant contemporary painting and takes place at venues across Swansea throughout the summer. Talks, workshops and other related activities will be programmed for its duration to complement the exhibition.

www.llegallery.com      www.beeppainting.com

Image: 
Somewhere over the rainbow by Lindsey Bull
oil on paper, 50.5cm x 40.5cm, 2018
Photo credit: Michael Pollard


Featured Artists Websites:

Simon Bayliss www.simon-bayliss.com                                                                                                                        

Lindsey Bull www.lindseybull.com

Martyn Cross www.yateheads.blogspot.com

Gordon Dalton www.gordondalton.com

Lara Davies www.laradavies.com

Tom Down www.tomdown.co.uk

Tamara Dubnyckyj www.tamaradubnyckyj.net

Robbie Fife www.robbiefife.co.uk

Rebecca Gould www.rebeccagould.co.uk

Marielle Hehir www.mariellehehir.com

Aly Helyer www.alyhelyer.com

Linda Hemmersbach www.lindahemmersbach.com

Dan Howard-Birt www.lidoprojects.com/dan

Richard James www.cargocollective.com/colouredmud

Iwan Lewis www.iwanlewis.com

Jonathan Lux www.jonathanlux.com

James Moore www.jamescmoore.org

Hannah M Morris www.HannahmMorris.co.uk 

Philip Nicol www.philipnicol.co.uk

Tom Pitt www.tompitt.net

Ben Risk www.benrisk.org

Ben Sadler www.juneauprojects.co.uk

Toby Ursell http://www.tobyursell.com/ 

Casper White www.casperwhite.com

Ellie Young www.ellieyoungart.com

<< Back to Previous Page